Volume 2 SOON (I promise!)

Never thought we’d see nearly a year between the release of the Melandra’s Galaxy trilogy and beginning a second volume of science fiction adventures. I had a lot of other projects in the cue.

Expect this site to come back to live within a few weeks. At least one two page will show up on the site each week. And long before the last chapter of the series shows up on this site, you’ll be able to pick up the whole thing at your favorite digital book seller.

I got more ambitious with the second volume. Where the first volume only had six characters who appeared in more than one scene, the second volume has maybe twenty. The first volume has three chapters. The second has four. Last year at this time, I saw the second story as an ambitious failure. Since then, I have completely reworked everything. Every image has been retouched. Whole scenes have been added. Characters have been better developed. The action is tighter, the dialog is better. I am now very excited to release it.

NaNoWriMo done. Now back to the regularly scheduled program.

Yes, I got my 50,000 words written this November. I journaled about the experience. Probably wrote more than fifty thousand words about writing fifty thousand words. Thought briefly about posting them as a blog. But I have this theory that most people would rather read less of other people’s introspective blather rather than more of it.

I actually wrote two novellas. In my mind, it’s a comic series. The “novellas” are the multi-part series and then I have one or two issue stories to go between them. What I wrote this month, once it is edited and drawn, will probably be about a year’s worth of monthly comics. I feel like I’ve got the hard part done, but I still have a ton to do before this idea sees the light of day.

So, now I have to get back on top of my other projects. And that includes this one. My goal is to have the first two books of the second trilogy all laid out and ready for publication by the end of the year.

I suspect it seems like I’m not doing anything because I haven’t actually published anything new in quite some time. But that isn’t the case. I’m working constantly. Got all kinds of pots on the fire, as they say. And eventually something will be ready to serve up.

NaNoWriMo Book Cover

One week to go and still ten thousand words to write. I needed a break, so I drew a potential cover for my book. Since this book will eventually see release as a graphic novel, I need to know how to draw the characters anyway. I think it turned out pretty good. And, for those of you reading the my more famous comic, you can see how much my artwork has evolved even in the months since releasing Melandra’s Galaxy books 1-3.

In my mind, this is a classic pulp fantasy novel in the tradition of Conan, Kull, Tarzan, John Carter, Solomon Kane, Elric of Melnibone, etc. My character has a few unique ticks which I think set him apart from every other guy with long hair and a sword. The art was designed to evoke Larry Elmore and Frank Frazetta, two of my favorite fantasy artists. Trying to imagine this as the cover of one of those fantasy anthology magazines like “Weird Tales” that I used to pick up at the used book store when I was a kid.

Potential cover for my NaNoWriMo book